Susanna and Ensemble NeoN / The Forester
  • 演出者Susanna and Ensemble NeoN / The Forester
  • 商品類型 獨立流行
  • 出品地Norway
  • 語言英文
  • 碟數1
  • 格式CD
  • 含外包裝重量0.12kg
  • ISBN7041880990886


Susanna and Ensemble NeoN / The Forester


Susanna and Ensemble NeoN / The Forester
     The quietly spinetingling Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanna Karolina Wallumrod follows 2012's edgily soulful Wild Dog with this equally gripping but texturally softer collaboration with compatriots Ensemble neoN – an octet featuring strings, reeds and the lute-like theorbo. The music has a spacious early-music ring that marks it out from Susanna's electronic and percussion-driven ventures, but her pristine voice still evokes the same journeys through dark landscapes – lost-in-the-woods fairytales that summon up the fears and wonderings of childhood. The three-part title track moves from tentative beginnings accompanied by a fragile piano motif to soft clouds of strings sounds against a lissome folk-song melody, and concludes in whispered dissonances. Marimba tones and the deep jangle of the theorbo underpin the quietly pleading Hangout; Oh, I Am Stuck describes a sense of being psychically stifled all the more scary for being expressed with such tranquillity; and the concluding Lonely Heart stirs Susanna's soul-vocal inflections as a more angular arrangement winds around her. There aren't many laughs, or much jazz, but it's exquisite and unique music-making.


1 The Forester I, II & III 15:38

2 Hangout 5:08

3 Oh, I Am Struck

4:19 4 Intruder 5:29

5 Lonely Heart 3:00