Royksopp/The Understanding CD
  • 出品地Norwegian
  • 語言English
  • 碟數1
  • 格式CD
  • 重量(千克)0.15kg
  • ISBN094631148125


Royksopp/The Understanding CD


In 2002, the Norwegian duo of Svein Berge and Torbjorn Brundtland found a sweet spot between wispy Moon Safari-style pop and Boards of Canada-like atmospherics on the widely-admired Melody A.M. The Understanding sounds relatively absent-minded, careening around the room like a panicky fly. Some of it works well; the bouncy "Only This Moment" resembles Fischerspooner at their silliest (and thus, most fun), while "49 Percent" gets a huge lift from a New Jack vocal courtesy of Chelonis R. Jones. But the record is too often thwarted by syrupy synth-pop ("Follow My Ruin") as well as the lack of shifty downtempo rhythms and avant-garde underpinnings that kept Melody so pleasantly grounded. They haven’t lost their knack for subtle hooks and well-placed cross-rhythms, like the slippery keyboard squibble that glides its way into "What Else Is There?" But the sophomore curse is hard to overcome, and though there’s plenty here to recommend, Berge and Brundtland aren’t able to break the spell. NOTE: The limited edition version of the record includes an all-new 5-song B-Side EP. –Matthew Cooke


Disc: 1 1. Triumphant 2. Only This Moment 3. 49 Percent 4. Sombre Detune 5. Follow My Ruin 6. Beautiful Day Without You 7. What Else Is There? 8. Circuit Breaker 9. Alpha Male 10. Someone Like Me 11. Dead To The World 12. Tristesse Globale