Stan Getz / Getz Plays Jobim: The Girl From Ipanema
  • Disc1
  • FormatCD
  • Weight(kg)0.15kg
  • ISBN73145894142
Regular PriceHK$106

Out of stock

Stan Getz / Getz Plays Jobim: The Girl From Ipanema

Product Information
When guitarist Charlie Byrd first introduced bossa nova to Stan Getz in 1962, the saxophonist gave the lilting Brazilian rhythm its perfect American voice. Getz's sinuous lines and piping tenor sax sound merged with the understated samba beat to create an irresistible blend of cool jazz and warm Latin sensibilities. This CD gives us bossa nova's greatest soloist playing the tunes of its greatest composer, culling every song by Antonio Carlos Jobim that Getz recorded for Verve between 1962 and 1964. The biggest hits are here, including "The Girl from Ipanema" and "Corcovado" with João and Astrud Gilberto's charming vocals, while "Desafinado" and "One Note Samba" appear in both the original instrumental versions with Charlie Byrd and later vocal recordings with the Brazilians. The surprises come with the lesser-known Jobim songs, like "O Morro Nao Tem Vez," a gently keening, minor theme accompanied here by a largely Brazilian band that includes Jobim and the superb guitarist Luiz Bonfá. Another is "Eu e Voce," with Getz soaring in a Carnegie Hall performance. Subtle differences abound in the way the different Brazilian and American groups approach the material, but it's all tied together by Jobim's scintillating melodies and Getz's gorgeous sound and inspired improvisations.
Song List

1         Corcovado (Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars)     4:13     
2         Desafinado (Instrumental Version)     5:49     
3         Chega De Saudade (No More Blues)     4:14     
4         The Girl From Ipanema     5:21     
5         O Morro Não Tem Vez     6:53     
6         Vivo Sonhando (Dreamer)     2:52     
7         One Note Samba (Instrumental Version)     6:10     
8         Eu E Voce (Me And You)     2:28     
9         Desafinado (Vocal Version)     4:11     
10         Once Again (Outra Vez)     6:40     
11         O Grande Amor     5:24     
12         Só Danço Samba     3:42     
13         How Insensitive     3:20     
14         One Note Samba (Vocal Version)     3:07